I report to you ladies and gentlemen from beyond the grave; well, I say beyond the grave, I actually mean beyond my bedroom.
My Internet has packed up and left with the person who paid for it, so she pretty much left us out to dry. And now I'm faced with the inevitable; thrashing out a deal with Internet providers.
Urgh. This is surely something first-years were never meant to deal with. Not now. Not when there's drinking to be drunk.
Hah. Yeah, right. This coming from a man who could get drunk with a cup of apple juice. Or something that looks like apple juice. Maybe I was trying to distract myself from the harsh reality by aligning myself with the stereotypical behavior of students.
"Hey, yeah, let's get fuccccccckkkkkkkkkedddddddddddd!!" No, let's not.
Surely, there must be more to us, as students? Surely we're not all just alcoholic, party animals/secret rapists waiting around the corner of a Co-op?
No, apparently not. It's a horrible tag we've been given, one that won't be shaken off anytime soon, so we may as well enjoy ourselves for the time being, eh?
Actually, let's swing it away from here, because I actually do have something to say rather than ramble on aimlessly (I hear ya. What difference is it from the last blog? Hur hur hur...)
Politics. Now most of you should know that my feeling towards politics is equivalent to my feelings towards a shopping bag on a windy day; indifferent, yet scared of its random attacks on the public and myself.
Unless you've been away from the planet on business at Mars or something, you cannot have failed to notice the whole hoo-ha about Grick Niffin, the leader of the BNP appearing on Question Time. This caused such horror that protestors tried to storm the BBC, trying to prevent Grick from appearing on the television programme.
Now, we all know the BNP and the contoversy that constantly follows them. What I personally don't understand is why on earth these people are protesting.
It's ridiculous. I didn't see any point in what they were doing. Here was a chance for Nick Griffin to essentially explain himself about his policies, much like a kid who said something wrong and was told to "explain themselves" in primary school. But the protestors seemed to behave in an equally childish way; what they essentially did was stick their fingers in their ears and go "la-la-la-la-la-la-la-la" because of their un-relenting belief that they are right and Nick Griffin is an idiot.
Yes, we all know he was an idiot, and what better chance to showcase that than to go on Question Time? He was like a mouse who willingly entered a stadium full of cats; you could feel the audience just itching to tear him to pieces. And he was; he was constantly stammering and whimpering as the audience and the panellists laid on the pressure constantly. Had the protestors had their way, we would never have the opportunity to see this spectacle.
Nick Griffin; his reputation has been dragged through the mud even more than before ever since that appearance. But I still have beef with protestors. Let people like Nick Griffin on Question Time, for goodness sake. People in the audience are usually intelligent enough to counter almost anything he says, and said event turns out to be quite spectacular. And Nick Griffin can't get any more embarrased than that.
Unless he's caught punching a kitten in the face. Then that's a completely different thing.
No comments:
Post a Comment